My beautiful mask

image

Over the past few day’s I’ve been cutting down on the makeup, as annoyingly I’ve had the world’s most persistent stye. Since I’ve been lacking eye makeup I’ve realised my confidence has fallen massively. I hate it. Whilst going cold turkey I haven’t been as excited about going out, and I’m a million times more self aware. No surprise I hate that too. I’ve never considered myself to be a vain person, but it turns out I am.

I’m not vain in the sense of judging others, but I do hold myself to a stupidly high standard. I never noticed how badly it affected my everyday life. Or how much a bit of mascara meant to me. Is this just me? Or is it my generation?

Teenage girls are constantly compared with airbrushed photos of people who are paid and made to look attractive. The reason they are paid for this is because that kind of beauty is not common, and we all don’t look like that. So why does society expect it? Why should I have to match up to the likes, of Kate Moss and Miranda Kerr when they clearly aren’t the norm?

It’s not just our facial features it’s our physiques too. The world today doesn’t care about health, no they care about attractiveness. Nowadays physical treatments that have detrimental effects on our health are still available because to put it simply they improve our astetchic, is there no limit upon our need for beauty?

In recent years the physical expectations held above us girls are now being shared and spread, amongst boys and men, they’re now just as concerned with their eyebrows and clothing as we are (which is attractive to a degree, but seriously I can’t even deal with a guy in fake tan, just no). It’s great that men are becoming more metro sexual, but it’s increasing the self obsessed epidemic. There’s nothing wrong with taking pride in our appearances, but sometimes it can go too far.

Even dating has become centred around our looks, with apps where you reject a potential match based upon their photo becoming more and more popular. How is that okay? Have we all become that vapid? The most attractive people aren’t always the best looking, just ask Belle (see what I did there? Thanks Disney..). If you look like Beyonce but have the personality of Lindsey Lohan nobody is gonna in reality wanna tap that, sorry not sorry. Looks count but who we are and how we treat others counts for a whole lot more.

But I do myself to an extent conform to what’s expected of me. I wear makeup and pretty looking clothes, because it makes me feel good, or at least I thought that was why. Now that I’ve come to terms with the actual reasoning, behind why it makes me feel good, I’m going to make sure my confidence is no longer reliant upon my exterior. Not being able to leave the house without a face full of products is not the way I plan to continue living. Although I’m going to continue to wear some makeup I’ll be making sure that I can cope without it also. It’s not the makeup we wear it’s how we wear it, and not wearing it doesn’t make me any less. As long as I start drilling that message into my head hopefully I will be as confident as I used to be in my pre-makeup days.

I want it to be very clear that I have nothing against makeup or any sort of personal grooming, in fact I love a bit of vanity. But what I do have a problem with is the reasoning behind why we all wear it. So if you wear makeup purely based upon the way it looks and because you want to, by all means go for it. But if you use it as I did as a cover for a deeper more personal reason take a step back and reevaluate your dependence upon it.

Sorry for sounding a tad bit preachy, but these thoughts have been running around my head for a while now, and I hoped they’d make for an interesting post. Rant over!

Laters Lovelies!

6 thoughts on “My beautiful mask

  1. This is all so true. I’m lucky in the respect that media doesn’t affect me in that way when it comes to makeup. I’ve gone out for the day with a full face, I’ve gone out wearing nothing but lip moisturiser but it’s hard to ignore the impossibly high aesthetic standards plastered all over magazine shelves these days.
    I sound really hypocritical because I do buy a lot of fashion magazines [mostly for the freebies or someone I have an interest in on the front cover if I’m honest] but the one thing that drives me crazy, is these headlines on magazines with a heavily photoshopped, svelte star on the front cover, screaming headlines about girls having body confidence issues and how we should all be confident whatever our bodies are like [true, we should]. Yet read a few pages into a magazine and it’s ‘follow this new fad diet for a slim new you!’ …. What? Guys and girls have always been given mixed messages, we have to be ourselves and be comfortable… But we have to lose weight and wear all the latest makeup products or hair creams and have chiseled abs. You can’t win, and it sucks.

    Like

    • Completely agree, you would think that in 2014, we’d have the ability to stop comparing ourselves and just appreciate what we have without constant pressure from the media as well as one another. It’s sad that these fashion magazines ignore their target audience of average everyday women and continue to put them down rather than support them as they should. Thankyou for reading, it was really interesting hearing someone else’s opinion on this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

